top of page

Race Review: Borneo International Marathon

EVENT. Borneo International Marathon. Kota Kinabalu 01 May 2016 Time 03:00

Headline Event Owners: Borneo International Marathon Race Director: Datuk Dr Heng Aik Cheng Event Organising Company: Borneo International Marathon Committee

Race Review PRE RACE. Entry and information: Ease of entry and the event information given at registration was straight forward and relevant and updates of information via both their Facebook and Web-site were clear and concise. Questions were generally answered quickly.

Value of entry price is always subjective and although higher than some I feel that overall the fee was fair*

Race registration and kit collection: Collection point and dates were very obliging and the actual collection was very easy, quick and made for a good meeting place but I do wish that a postal service was offered.

Race site Facilities: Space at the venue, the toilet numbers and condition could not be faulted. If water was available pre-race I did not find it. Staffing, information and communication were first rate.

Parking:

Parking facilities were more than ample for the full marathon but the road to the car park would have been closed off prior to many arriving for the later start times so I cannot imagine what alternatives would have been left. However, shuttles were offered which should have mitigated the need to park for many.

Care of Competitors: Warming up to Rimba seems to be the in thing and for those who chose to partake they seemed to enjoy the experience. For me, dynamic stretches and a good jog. Starting time and timing were spot on but there was no attempt to control the starting chute so as usual hundreds of slow runners packed the front end of the grid causing faster runners to scramble around and through the slower starters. I fail to understand why a slow starter wants to be at the front when they know that they will be jostled and harassed almost from the get go. Medical facilities were evident throughout the event.

RACE. Organisation: Course management: The traffic control and signage were even better than last and there was little wrong with them last then. The course itself was as interesting as any city course I have ever run. The changing scenery and the mid distance hilly section kept your mind on the job and enhanced the enjoyment factor no end. Marshaling was first rate with plenty of volunteers who knew their duties, not a one amongst them was anything other than enthusiastic and cheerful, thank you all from all of us runners. There was just one point that needs to be looked at, at one of the feed stations, at around 33kms, they ran out of drinking water with hundreds of runners still to come. I was unable to find out if further supplies had been arranged. However, I commend the volunteers efforts, the melting ice water that they had stored the water bottles in was being sponged over those who wanted the shock of ice down their neck, it felt great. Apart from that one under-stocked station the remainder of the numerous stations were well supplied and all were well staffed.

The finish line was a joy to see, not just because it was the end of my ordeal but finishing in a stadium is always special. The MC calling you home and the enthusiasm of the crowd along the finishing straight makes for a perfect end to a near perfect event. Medal placed around my neck, finishers tee tucked under my arm, food and drinks collected and so off to the cool-down area to ease away the pain.

POST RACE. Apart from posting the results in the stadium as they happen I cannot see any way to improve the post race facilities or presentation.

AFTER EVENT The results were very timely, which was one of my disappointments from 2015, although full results they could be improved if they were age grouped.

*Based on price against other similar events as advertised.

My overall score for this event is 92.0% this is one of the highest scores I have ever given but I am sure that the organisers will strive to further improve, as no matter what, there is always a way to improve in everything we do.

Thank you to the Race Director and all who have been involved you can all be very proud of a well-managed, enjoyable and safe event. See you next year.

Happy Running When it comes to going after what you love in life, don't take no for an answer.

Other comments; A Message from the Race Director, Datuk Dr Heng Aik Cheng My Dear Friends, Thank you so much for taking part in BIM 2016. It was indeed a pleasure to see so many old friends returning. In addition, the new ones taking part for the first time made the organisers realise that our intention of bringing a healthy lifestyle through running was being fulfilled. Believe me, it was really hard work for all of us. I only slept on the 1st may at 5 pm after having been awake from 30 April at 5 am! I am sure the rest of the Committee had an even tougher and more stressful time! You too have contributed towards a better society as the proceeds after expenses go towards Charities in the Community. Thank you again. Next year will be the TENTH ANNIVERSARY OF BIM. We are already starting work on it. Watch out for the opening which will be very soon. Finally, forgive us of any shortcomings. We try to be as professional as possible but as we are all volunteers, sometimes there are shortcomings which cannot be predicted. After all, it is the whole running community working together as one...running, laughing, losing temper, crying, pain, achievement, satisfaction, inspiring and everything else that goes towards make up a large family which is love, understanding, forgiving, supporting and working together to make the future better. To all our overseas friends, let's meet again in the 10TH ANNIVERSARY of BIM2017. Best Wishes, Heng

My personal race.

My race was not what I had expected or trained for. As usual I had planned my race to my target time. My usual easy start for the first few kilometres then gradually building my pace to reach half way at just above half the target time. Then hold pace to sixteen kilometres and push on as much as possible to the finish, easy! Well, all went well and at half way in 2:02:30 I was in very good shape, especially as I had covered the first long climb by then. But, shortly after, just after the twenty-two kilometre point the wheels departed. It was like I woke up from a dream, or perhaps a nightmare, I was barely moving up quite a slight incline and I didn't seem to be able to push myself on, ever attempt to motivate myself was countered by a stronger reason why I shouldn't bother to try any harder. As I missed every target I set I just set a new lower target, there was no drive and no desire. I did eventually pick up my pace and finished the last one and a half kilometres at my scheduled pace to finish in a so disappointing 4:38:58.

I am so disappointed with myself.

I have let myself, and those who believe in me, down so badly.

Looking back on my race and analysing it I can see that my bad run is due to a lack of training. Not my body, judging by my training and resent races that seems to be in good order. It’s my brain. I need to train the brain to cancel out all those negative thoughts. When the daemon voices start to tell you to slow down because your muscles ache, or walk because your knee is painful, or quit because you are just not good enough, that is when you need the real strength, the strength of character to dispel the lies and push on, and push on hard. That is what was missing in my run, the strength of character, but there will be a next time and next time there will be the strength of character to see it through.

Being grey means the grey matter matters more.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page