top of page

Race Review Eagle & Child


EVENT. Eagle & Child 22 km. Trail Run.

John Forrester N.P. Perth, Western Australia 26 June 2016 Time 08:15 [08:18]

Headline Event Owners: PERTH TRAIL SERIES Race Director: Undisclosed

Event Organising Company: Perth Trail Series (PTS)

Race Review SCORE CARD

PRE RACE.

Entry and information:

Everything was via the PTS Facebook page/Web site, entry, event details and information. Contact with the organisers was easy and inquiries were dealt with promptly and with great clarity. Event details were updated regularly leading up to the event and the weeks prior to the event e-mails containing specific event details were sent, including a full reminder-mail the day prior to the event

Value of entry was, in Australian terms, very good. And, as previous in reviews of overseas events, calculated against minimum wage rates in Australia and Malaysia the 68 AU$ price tag is just under four hours work so would equate to around RM26.

Race registration and kit collection:

Collection was at the start area on the morning of the event so no need for a postal service. The actual collection was well organised and staffed so there was very little waiting. 20/20

Race site Facilities:

There was so much space at the venue you could have been lost for hours. The only minor quirk was the queues at the toilets and the ladies did come begging for toilet paper at one point but I understand this was sorted out by the race staff, as was everything.

Parking:

The National Park car park was quite large and could have probably catered for all the participants cars, but, with other park users in mind, the organisers arranged the use of an off-site parking area so that cars could be safely parked and people could car-pool to the start. The organisers not only encouraged but even rewarded car-poolers with free bottled drinks. Kudos guys.

Care of Competitors:

Regular readers of my reviews will know that issuing an emergency number on trail-runs is a big plus in my book of safety issues and unfortunately this event, like many, do not place the same value on this practice and it would be so easy to print a contact number on the race bib. Medical facilities were absent at the event. 19/25

RACE.

Organisation:

Course management:

This magnificent course, predominantly following the Eagle View Trail, through the national park was only enhanced by the superb tape marking of the route, at this juncture I would also like to point out, mainly to any Malaysian Hash Runner readers, that there were two tail-end Charlies, that collected each and every tape, at the back of the pack. The mixture of terrain, the difficulty of some of the descents and the fact that there were no brutal climbs made this a truly enjoyable run full of variation. I had a blast.

Marshaling was on a different level, each and every one were like one of the gang, enthusiastic and jolly, they knew what we were going through. Great job guys, thanks.

It would horrify just about all my Malaysian readers to know that there was just one aid station, yes just one for a twenty-two kilometre trail event, but, given that the event was a BYO event and no-one was allowed to start the run unless they were carrying the required 500ml minimum quantity of liquid, and the weather was very cold, one fill-up station was sufficient.

The finish area was just a little chaotic and congested and had some-one not put me right I would have walked off without my medal.

Bananas, hot and cold drinks and the most welcome cup of pumpkin soup was awaiting our arrival at the start point. 26/30

POST RACE.

It would seem that here in Australia they do not have the Malaysian food ethic, at home if there was not an array of food presented there could be a riot, but here a simple cup of soup and a banana goes down very well with the locals, I suspect we can forgive them that.

But, some kind of medical attendance would be the one thing I would suggest as a real benefit to a fantastic event.

Top placings were announced at a very informal and friendly prize ceremony just as the last few runners were crossing the line. I cannot help but wonder at how the age grouping was worked out? Male and Female, yes I get that bit. Under thirty-five, Thirty-five to Forty-four and over Forty-five? I could understand Junior, Open and Vet. or Open, Vet. and Snr. Vet. But those age groupings just seemed rather random. 12/20

AFTER EVENT

The FULL results were timely, but again age grouped to that same strange age criteria. 4/5

My overall score for this event is 81.0%, but for the lack of any medical facilities this event would have been up close to the 95% and anyone who reads my reviews knows that I never give more than a 95% as no matter what, as there is always a way to improve in everything we do..

Overall I think the Race Director and all who have been involved in this friendly event can be very proud of what they have achieved. High Five’s all round.

Happy Running pada kaki tua, atau muda.

When it comes to going after what you love in life, don't take no for an answer

My personal race.

2:18:12 65th. overall, 12th. 45+

My race can be summed up in a single word, fantastic.

Not that my time was too great compared to those around me, not that I achieved any landmarks in my short trail-running career, just because it was so enjoyable. Starting the event in temperatures around the seven-degree mark didn’t even blunt the enjoyment, although stripping away the gloves, ear-warmers and wind-jacket was a novelty for me on the move.

I started at a modestly quick pace, rather than my more normal funeral pace, and latched onto a group I thought I may be able to stick with. However just a few kilometres into the run we hit the first technical descent, it was at this point I became detached to the obviously more proficient trail-runners. That said, my technical descending is improving and I am certainly far more confident going down the steeper slopes.

By the time I had completed the only steep sections of the trail and the one long climb I found myself in a group of five runners, with whom I would spend most of the remainder of the run with. From around K5 to K18 a lovely young lady initially paced our small group, but then she and I started sharing the pacing through the major part of the run, it was real team work, thank you Bade Lorna you made my day.

With three kilometres to go I decided that I should see what I had left and pushed on, unfortunately I didn’t pull the remainder of the group with me, and finished really strongly well inside my target time.

Congratulations, not just to the winners of each category, but to each and every one who took part as a competitor, volunteer or part of the organising team – especially the soup chef.

Long Course first in: Ian Newell & Rachel Brooks Long <35: Daniel Bayliss & Alice Mcgushin Long 35-44: Keith Holt & Martine Nield Long 45+: Voler Gartz & Loretta Firth

A little information about PTS.

The PTS group are a loose collection of like-minded trail-runners who meet and run together each Thursday in Kings Park, Perth. They are ‘organised’ by the terrible twins Melina and Bernadette. In addition to their regular runs on Thursday’s the group also organise an array of events throughout the year.

Check out their Facebook page @Perth Trail Series.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page