top of page

Diary of an Old Pair of Legs July 2016

Training Log for July 2016

Running - 292 km this month [1702 km. total for the year]

Ascent 1831 mtrs. [2786 mtrs] ave Training pace 6:00.4 mpk.

Cycling- 51 km [396 km]

My Event Calendar [Aug] Event: Venue: Target time:

OCBC Bank KCCCI Charity Run Klang 0:48:42

Kuching Int Marathon Kuching, Sarawak 3:59:00 P J Half Peterling Jaya 1:47:00 Cuberjaya Night Duathlon Cyberjaya 1:35:00 Huntmer Merdeka Run Klang 0:50:00

This month was almost devoid of anything competitive, just one event, with one having been cancelled, but, an enjoyable month of training. I have also found a community of like-minded runners who have welcomed me with open arms, TPRC in Kuala Lumpur, and once monthly I will endure rising at 03:30 to enable me to drive to central Kuala Lumpur to run with them.

My favourite Marathon is almost upon me, where most of my running mates will be venturing onto the streets of Kuala Lumpur for the Standard Charter KL Marathon this week-end, I will be off to Sarawak for the Kuching Marathon on the following week-end. So, I am on my taper, but, at the same time I am upping my cycling mileage, and learning how to ride a real bike, in preparation for the Cyberjaya Duathlon, my first ever cycling event. I am hoping that most of the participants are cyclists that can’t run, that way I will have a chance of not disgracing myself.

Good luck and Happy Running to all my friends who are taking part in SCKLM or Kuching.

A Question of Sport. Should there be a ‘Foreigner Tax’

‎Running on Old Legs‎ to PJ Half Marathon 2016

21 February 2016 ·

I have joined this event because I have heard many good things said about it BUT RM100 EXTRA because I am not Malaysian is excessive and unnecessary. there can ONLY be one or two motives for this 'tax', either to squeeze every bit of profit from foreigners as possible OR to protect the few Malaysians who may win a prize by restricting their competition. At sixty-seven years of age I am certainly no threat to anyone who may win a prize so I feel like I have just had RM100 stolen from my wallet!

The above Facebook post was, of course, unanswered by the organisers of the event.

However, just this morning the whole question of charging a foreigner extra to enter an event has become quite a hot topic. Again it was the same event that sparked the fire with the following post:

My wife commented today. (My wife is Malaysian & not a runner)

"WHAT DOES CITIZENSHIP HAVE TO DO WITH RUNNING?"

I mentioned PJ Half Marathon which is RM60 for locals and RM160 for international runners.

Comments? (Please keep the comments constructive and positive & relevant)

Comments and opinions came thick and fast, however, there was still no word from the organisers as to why they felt that they should financially restrict overseas, local foreign residents, expats and tourists from entering their event.

We all know that most of the big city high profile events that would fill up no matter the cost place financial penalties on foreign entrants, but, just because it happens does not make it right nor does it mean we should not make a noise about the injustice.

It is not because I am a foreigner, because I am only a foreigner outside of my own country, and if I found this happening in my country I would be just as vociferous in my condemnation of the practice. I am however happy to say that I personally have never come across this practice in my own country.

My worry here in Malaysia is that the practice is not only at the big name events it is growing favour among smaller events too.

The problem can be, fairly and squarely, put at the door of the organisers as it is they and they alone that set the entrance fees.

We all know that there are different types of organisers;

There are a sadly diminishing number of dedicated sports organisers that are involved in our sport, yes to make a profit, but also to serve the running community and give value for money.

There are those that have jumped onto the bandwagon of running’s popularity and put on events ad hoc and hope for the best.

And then there are the businessmen organisers that are trying to take over our sport for shear profit.

We don't care where they are from, we only care where they are going

Groups two and three are usually where the problem lies, often in group two there is the misconception that if no foreigners are allowed, they are generally trying to keep out the African and European contingents, more social runners will join and swell their numbers. Social runners are not stupid, we enter events to enjoy the run, we have little or no chance of ever winning, with or without foreigners. Less than one-percent of any race field even think they have a faint chance of winning so why do organisers think we care if the best runner wins or the best of those who are allowed to run wins. If a number of foreigners enter a number of Malaysians will not but my best guess would be that there would be little change in the total number of participants involved.

As for group three it is just money driven, we can charge more so we will.

It is a sad thing that the relevant government bodies can’t see that the actions of those who restrict, financially or otherwise, foreign participation is actually damaging this country, by reputation and by reducing the numbers of foreigners that visit Malaysia as a running destination.

From a personal point of view I worry more that there are so many Malaysians that cannot see the wrong in this type of discrimination and that does not bode well for my adopted home country.

I do have a simple solution, a simple solution that is practiced all over the world. With the exception of the big city events our sport is actually an amateur sport so why prize money? The vast majority of runners are true sports men and women and do not run for money, they run for the sheer joy of our sport, to be better, fitter people to be better today than they were yesterday or purely for the great social side of running. Do away with the prize money, let us run for the glory, the glory of winning for those who are the fastest and the glory of getting to the finish for those who are the slowest.

Weed out the so called elites that just run for the cash, do we need them? Those that rise to the top will get their sponsors. They will be there decked out to encourage us mortals to drink the same drink, buy the same shoes or shirts.

The real winners will have the glory of representing their club, school, state or country and if that isn’t enough then they are not fit to compete at any level.

A selection of comments from the Facebook thread:

A small group of opportunist is spoiling the spirit of sport everywhere 😑

I don't know why there should be any difference in entry prices. A runner is a runner regardless of their origin....

This is why now the poor like us cannot participate in any big events anymore.

What is so weird abt that? International or not the fee is charged according to citizenship. It is common.

Even some local events charge the locals expensive and we get low quality t shirts & etc. They make money by charging high and same time getting sponsors for their event. Damm it

Seems like some choose to charge more as "get rich quick" scheme...

Sent them an email with the same complaint... They never replied.. So disappointed 😔

International big name events like SCKLM is standard practice to have local rates for citizens and higher rates for foreigners. Other races around the region like Angkor wat marathon also does the same thing so it's not uncommon . However pj half marathon hardly qualifies as well known race internationally . It's more of a local community race than anything else so yes, it is highly unfair to have different rates for participants based on their nationality . Ideally should be a flat rate for all participants

Join if you want. Dont badmouthing them just because you dont like it

It really is a problem. If you don't see it as a problem

For rm 160 u don't get to run on a red carpet .......nor u get special privallage at water stations .....or u get a silver cup to drink water

Running on Old Legs is thinking of running PJ Half Marathon in a shirt that says; ALL RUNNERS MOVE ASIDE BECAUSE I PAID FOR MORE OF THE ROAD THAN YOU DID

I thought is better way to bring up this issue direct to organiser and ask them for explanation..I have registered to run at Overseas and no issue about the fees because i know I'm not local..there is different fees between local and foreigners..everywhere is like that..I don't think this is big issue..don't badmouth if you don't like. If you like you register if you don't like just shut up...if not happy don't join...

There are many large scale events around the world that do charge additional fees for foreign participants. I am absolutely sure there are no additional costs incurred by organisers it is just a form of tourist-tax that goes straight into the organisers coffers. This is a world-wide problem with most of the big name events that will fill up no matter what, there are some exceptions, the London Marathon for example has a flat rate but that event is over-subscribed four fold every year. The problem we have here in Malaysia is that it is far more widespread, you can hardly call the PJ Half Marathon a big name event but even smaller events discriminate financially or with outright 'no foreigners' for financial gain or to ensure Malaysian's win. Remember when you enter an event it is you and me, the true sportsmen and women with little or no chance of winning, that pay for the prizes.

Happy Running pada kaki tua, atau muda..

When it comes to going after what you love in life, don't take no for an answer.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page