top of page

Race Review Back to Endurance 12 hour race


EVENT. NAME: Back 2 Endurance 12 hour race.

VENUE: Padana Botanic[Lake Gardens], Kuala Lumpur.

DATE: 4th. Sept 2016 Time 06:30

Headline Event Owners: Malaysia Ultra Running

Event Organising Company: Malaysia Ultra Running .

Race Director: Jeff Ooi and Jason Tan.

Timing company: Checkpointspot.

Registration company: Malaysia Ultra Running.

THE EVENT

A somewhat different review as many of the elements of a more usual event, such as traffic control and the course interest, are missing from this park-loop event. Therefore, it will not be a direct comparison with a normal road race or trail event, but, it will have its own standing in the future against other enclosed loop events.

Parking at the venue was within the Lake Gardens own parking areas, so, for us very early starters there was sufficient parking available. Although I did feel a little sorry for other park users who arrived, at a more civilised time of the day, to find all the available parking spaces full, and full for the whole day.

Registration and bib pick-up on the day, for those who had not availed themselves of the previous pick-up options, was very efficient and welcoming. No postal service was offered but given that there were local options and on the day it was not necessary.

It seems to me, as a first time Ultra runner, that the field was largely made up of friends and acquaintances rather than just fellow runners.

Judging from the number of new friends I made over the course of the event it seems that the Ultra running fraternity are a very close knit branch of the world-wide family of runners and extremely welcoming to newbies, old and young.

Just one of many group photos taken by newly acquired friends.

Well before the race start there were tables loaded with water, isotonic and coke freely available. I did hear that there was food around too.

This was one start line that did not need to be controlled, with potentially twelve hours of running in front of us I think almost everyone wanted to be the last away rather than first, so, no pushing, bumping or barging.

There isn't much you can say about an exercise track that loops around a lake, other perhaps, that during the middle part of the day it was good that there were some areas that offered some shade from the very hot sun.

I doubt that any loop that, in my case, one needs to navigate twenty-seven times can be called much other than a little on the boring side, but at least we got to change direction after six-hours.

I would like to say that us runners were well looked after, but, that just doesn't do justice to the lengths the organisers and volunteers went to, to ensure we were well catered for. For the whole twelve-hours drinks flowed and a veritable banquet was laid before us all served by some of the happiest, most helpful and fun volunteers I have come across, what a great bunch of people, you did us proud.

There were of course medics at the start/finish area along with the free massages. Also throughout the event organisers and volunteers patrolled the loop ensuring that no one got into difficulties, a great little touch.

Not very much to do with the race organisation I know, but, I would like to point out how much the support and encouragement of the many onlookers meant to me, and I'm sure the other runners.

My one and only major criticism of the organisation was at the very end. Our podium runners, like the rest of us, only more so, had put their heart and soul into twelve hours of real endurance under a scorching sun and I feel that they deserved a little more of a fanfare, no proper presentation, no podium and a very tiny, cheap, plastic looking cup. Come on guy's they deserve a little better than that.

My personal peeve: The results were very timely but it would be good to have had them including age groups so that us older folk could see how we held up against others in our age range.

EVENT SCORE CARD SUMMARY

PRE RACE.

Entry and information:

Event information and updates 10/10. Contact details: Facebook, Web-site, Phone, E-mail available 8/10.

Value of entry price at RM 150 17/20.

Race registration and kit collection: Collection point and dates, postal service offered, ease of collection. 18/20. 53/60

Race site Facilities:

Space at the venue 10/10. Toilets, number and condition 10//10.

Start area staffing and information 10/10.

Parking and transport: 8/10. 38/40

Care of Competitors:

Starting time, timing and control 10/10. Medical facilities at start/finish and on course 20/20. 30/30

THE RACE.

Organisation:

Course management: Space and enjoyment factor 40/40.

Marshaling quantity and quality 18/20. Feed stations number, staffing and stocking 20./20 78/80

POST RACE.

Finish line ease of medal/shirt/food collection, choice of food and hydration 10/10.

Resting and cool down areas 8/10.

Top placings posting board, announcements and prize ceremony 5/10. 23/30

AFTER EVENT

Results 15/20.

Post event communication 8/10. 23/30 Total 245/270

My overall score for this event is 90.7%.

An extremely high event score and well deserved and overall I think the Race Director and all who have been involved can be very proud of a well-managed, enjoyable and safe event. High Five’s all round.

Would I return to this event: With one attempt under my belt, and a new strategy, I fully intend to have another attempt at the gold medal next year.

Happy Running

When it comes to going after what you love in life, don't take no for an answer.

My personal race.

7:41:00 [64.1 kms]

It was a long week-end in every respect. Me and my entire pit-crew of one made our way to Kuala Lumpur on Saturday morning and returned home early Monday afternoon.

This whole Ultra thing was very new to me and having never run beyond the forty-two kilometres of the full marathon this was going to be an experience what ever happened. I chose this event as my first Ultra because it was run as a multi loop event, no winner on time, just run as far as you can in the allotted time.

As usual, I had my race plan in place, splitting the race up into sections. The first three hours to my first feed brake I was to try for thirty kms, I achieved twenty-nine plus so just about on curse. Then thirty minutes feeding on a slow loop around the track.

Now I was to run two-hour segments of eighteen kms. At 5 hours and 34 minutes I hit the forty-eight km. mark, just 4 mins. off pace. This feed break was fifteen minutes at the start/finish area, renewing sun cream layers and spraying aching muscles with that cold spay, you know the one that gets professional footballers with broken legs back on their feet in mere seconds.

This is where my total inexperience of Ultra running started to show, almost on pace, but, it was now midday and the sun was belting down on me at well over the thirty-five-degree mark and I was getting very tired.

So, setting off on my third segment, two hours and another eighteen kms. scheduled, was more than hard work, just finding my rhythm was a struggle. The heat was now beginning to take it’s tole and sapping me of what energy I had left. I struggled on for another one-hour and forty-minutes, only adding another twelve kms, but it was km. 57 that really let me know that I was running out of steam. I had to nip off for a natural pit-stop. So, when I awoke, still sitting on the pan I knew it was nearly over! As one of my running buddies remarked, “many of the runners stop for a power-nap but only one for a power-crap” My first ever twenty-five-minute km.

After just one more full lap I called it a day.

That of course was my naivety showing through, I found out, too late, that I need not have pulled out, I could have stopped and rested and then continued, like many of the competitors did.

I am sure I would not have reached the gold medal distance of eighty-five kms. but I know that after a rest period I could have done more. In fact, I did several more loops as a support runner for some of my running buddies, even one loop bare-footed in support of Jerome, my bare-foot team mate from the Great KL Relay.

Just one last thing, I’d like to thank so many people who took the time to come out and support us runners, for me, I’d especially like to thank all those TPRC members that cheered me on along with all the MKRC members, both on the side-lines and running alongside me, well mainly in front of me, but, as usual my sincerest thanks goes out to my pit crew, Dee, who supports me through all my mad moments.

A different type of experience that, with one attempt under my belt and a new strategy I may have another attempt at the gold medal next year.

2016 Result: http://results.checkpointspot.asia/results.aspx…

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page