top of page

Race Review: Fire Fighters Charity Trail


EVENT. NAME: Fire Fighters Charity Trail Run.

VENUE: Taman Botani Kepong, FRIM

DATE: 16 Oct 2016 Time: 07:15

Headline Event Owners:

Event Organising Company: EventBiz Ventures

Race Director:

Timing company: No Timing

Registration company: Howei

THE EVENT

Pre-race, information was very well presented on the Howei site and the people at EventBiz were good enough to arrange the posting of my kit as I was away over the collection week-end. However, I still do not understand why organisers don’t offer postal service as an option, it is to everyone’s advantage.

Updates were not forthcoming and the event Facebook page was only used to advise of the kit pick-up details.

One improvement from the last event that the organisers held here’ last time I wrote; “One small area that could have been easier, once near to the event starting point I followed the signs to FRIM but the actual starting point was at FRIM Botanical Park, the signs for which read Kepong Botanical Park, providing coordinates for GPS use would avoid any confusion”, this time coordinates were provided on the registration site.

The tiny parking area near the start point was insufficient. The vast majority of us had no option but to park along the surrounding roads.

The actual event was well organised and the organisers went out of their way to try and entertain us, pre and post-race.

The course, for those who know the venue, was the usual route used for events there.

Much of the course is run on prepared trail ‘roads’ with the final two to three kilometres on the paved park paths. Resent rains had left parts of the trail quite slick, but, the crushed limestone topping generally gave good grip.

Starting, just a very few minutes late, in the park with a short down-hill section leading to the trail-head and the immediate introduction to the two-kilometre relentless climb, so, just two-kilometres in, with busted lungs, but, more than half the climbing over and done with. That is why on this course a negative split is essential. After that climb the remainder of the course was little more than an undulating track with one steepish decline and no technical sections, overall the course was quite physically demanding but easy to negotiate.

Although the course is shared with non-participants, walkers, mountain bikers and some runners, there is plenty of room for all to occupy the same area together.

Marshaling is quite straight forward as there are few options to go off route so only four or five marshaled points were necessary. Two water stations, in my opinion, were sufficient and well stocked as I ran through and it was good to see so many first-aiders out on the course, something that many events miss.

A big thank you to all those who volunteered to make our morning run possible and enjoyable.

Post-race there was plenty of hydration, water and isotonic, but only watermelon as a food source.

As with the last event the top placings were never announced, room for future improvement along with a posting board so that everyone can see who they were beaten by. I also posted a question as to whether the list of winners would be published, my question went unanswered.

So, there will be nothing more than my congratulations to all the winning runners with a special mention to all my MKRC buddies who managed to take a top-ten placing and also the few of us that didn't..

And, too the ten old guys, sorry I mean veterans, who made it home in front of me, well run and I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did.

All proceeds raised from Fire Fighter Charity Trail Run 2016 will go to four families of fire victims (two from FRDM and two from the public) and Persatuan Istimewa Kanak-Kanak Hulu Langat.

EVENT SCORE CARD SUMMARY

.PRE RACE

Entry and information:

Event information and updates 8/10. Contact details: Facebook, Web-site, Phone, E-mail available 7/10.

Value of entry price at RM 60. 20/20.

Race registration and kit collection: Collection point, ease of collection. 16/20. 51/60

Race site Facilities:

Space at the venue 10/10. Toilets, number and condition 7/10.

Start area staffing and information 8/10.

Parking and transport: 6/10. 31/40

Care of Competitors:

Warm up. Starting time and control 8/10. Medical facilities at start/finish and on course 20/20. 28/30

THE RACE.

Organisation:

Course management: Space, signage, difficulty, enjoyment factor 37/40.

Marshaling quantity and quality 18/20. Feed stations number, staffing and stocking 20/20. 75/80

POST RACE.

Finish line ease of medal and food collection, choice of food and hydration 8/10.

Resting and cool down areas 8/10.

Top placings posting board, announcements and prize ceremony 5/10. 21/30

AFTER EVENT

Results 0/20.

Post event communication 4/10. 9/30 Total 215/270

My overall score for this event is 79.6%

A very similar score to the last event I ran that was organised by the same people. It is such a pity that a few things done badly or not done at all stops a very enjoyable event from being a very good and enjoyable event.

I feel the organisers need to look at how they communicate and interact with their audience to improve.

Would I return to this event: Yes. It is an event I enjoy running in and the competition is usually of a high standard giving me something to aim for, the runner in front of me.

Happy Running

When it comes to going after what you love in life, don't take no for an answer.

My personal race.

0:50:07 a little better than my previous run on this course.

I was relatively pleased with my overall time and that I finished really strong but I feel I should have done a little better on that first big climb. I enjoyed the course if not so much the surfaces.

Conclusion: I need a lot more hill work.

photo credits: Seven Chiam Hooi See Photography. Run Hike Asia. and friends.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page