top of page

Race Review Kuching Marathon


EVENT. Kuching 2016 Full Marathon

also 5k. Run by Mrs. Running on Old Legs

Kuching, Sarawak

14 Aug 2016 Time 02:00 [02:00]

Headline Event Owners: Kuching Marathon Association Race Director: Undisclosed

Event Organising Company: Kuching Marathon Association

Race Review SCORE CARD

PRE RACE.

Entry and information:

Entry was made very easily via EventFeet and there was all the event information available. Updates of information were frequent and the organisers were responsive via e-mail and their website. By the number of unanswered questions, just about all of which could be answered by reading what had been posted, it would seem that perhaps this was not monitored very well. The cost of entry at RM90 [first 500] or RM110 I feel is not excessive and very much in line with other Malaysian city marathons.

Race registration and kit collection:

The collection point and dates were sensible, however, the last day of collection was, as one would expect, very, very busy, in fact at times the queues were out of the door. I have no pity for those who chose to collect their kit at this time as they had turned down the option to have their kit delivered with the postal service offered at a very reasonable price. Mrs. Running on Old Legs was a late entrant and missed the postal option, she collected her kit on the Friday afternoon and was in a queue of three people. The kit collection was very well organised and efficient. 17/20

Race site Facilities:

Space at the venue is ample for warming-up and cooling-down. Toilets numbers and condition were good, but, why do they not have lights in them, it isn’t easy manoeuvring oneself out of running tights in the dark.

Pre-race water was not available and there was no information point.

The same bag-drop problems this year as in previous years. It would seem that the organisers have made a policy decision that ‘they know best’ and that no matter how much we ask for it to be stopped they insist on charging for the bag-drop. I witnessed at least two people asking other runners to pay for their bag-drop as, like me and many more runners, they did not have any cash with them. I know that the money collected is donated to the school that provides the staff for the bag-drop but this could be done far more runner friendly by just making a donation from the general funds.

Parking:

On road parking is the only option in the area of the start. There is an underground carpark at the start/finish but it cannot be used due to it being situated between the start and finish lines. I am not sure that altering the route slightly would solve the problem of access. Park and ride could well be the answer.

Care of Competitors:

Medical facilities at the start/finish were adequate.

There was no organised warm-up session, not a problem for me as I follow my own routine but there are many runners, especially new runners, that need the stimulation of an organised warm-up.

The starting time was spot on, but, as is still the norm here in Malaysia there was no attempt to control the starting chute. First come to the front until someone pushes you out so they can get nearer the front. Anticipated finishing time starts are the way to go and it takes very little effort to organise. 15/25

RACE.

Organisation:

Course management: Traffic control, space, signage, difficulty and enjoyment factor.

So, let’s get the easy bits over with. The course itself is flat and quite an interesting one, given that you are running through a city. For me the signage was fine although I have heard and read calls for more distance markers, I assume from runners who do not use a sports watch.

I personally enjoyed the course, and my running experience for the most part.

So, now onto the less easy parts, the bits that make me so sad.

Given that this event is now an international road race recognized by the Association of International Marathons and Distance Races (AIMS), as listed in AIMS Race Calendar, Kuching Marathon Association (KMA) has failed in its duty of care towards its participants.

I must qualify my report by saying that much of what is written in this section is not what I encountered during my run, it is information, from my wife’s experience in the 5k run and from first-hand reports given to me by people I know and trust.

Plainly no water

There has, rightly, been much made of the disaster that was supposed to be the water supply, many of the water stations had problems with water and isotonic supplies. KMA have made a statement, I refuse to call it an apology as they do, concerning the water shortage at four water stations. The truth of the matter is that the problem was at most if not all of the stations. For example, at the water station in the 5k run, that started at seven a.m, there were no cups available, runners were offered 1.5ltr. bottles that others had drunk from. Some runners, and I do not lay any blame on them, took unopened bottles, drank their fill then threw the now part filled bottle to the ground, a total waste due to an inadequate supply of paper cups. Throughout the course there were reports of those stupid little ‘taster cups’ having run out and therefore water being wasted as runners were given the large bottles to consume. It would seem that there was no contingency plans in place for supply shortages as no replacement supplies appeared for a very long period, if they arrived at all. I feel that I must also point out that this is not the first instant for KMA, water ran out at some water stations, albeit to a much lesser extent.

This year, cashless runners were begging for water at petrol stations, some were even drinking from non-drinking water taps. KMA have worsened the situation surrounding the lack of proper supplies by suggesting that they have undertaken a full inquiry into what happened and they have suggested that they got it right according to their calculations, they therefore reason that the problem was caused by:

the weather being warm and runners drinking too much. I am speechless, what a bunch of head in the sand inadequates.

Although the water supply failure was a major malfunction, I believe, it has overshadowed what was potentially an even more disastrous situation. Again a reoccurrence of a problem KMA caused in the 2015 event. The control, or more correctly in this case the failiure to control, traffic is possibly the most important element of organising a major city event and KMA failed to such an extent that I sincerely hope that they are stripped of any international recognition.

Major sections of the full marathon were run on open roads, I feel this should not happen, but where there is absolutely no option then the policing and marshalling must be of the highest standard.

The runners safety must at all times be paramount and runners should always have the right of way over any vehicle.

The leading runner, followed by cars and buses on an un-coned open road.

This open road policy was implemented by KMA at the Kuching Marathon 2016, as it was in 2015 and 2014. They do not learn, they do not listen.

I am only glad that I was running the open road sections during the very early hours of the morning as some of the road sections were not even coned off, I hate to think what it would have been like for the back of the packers. Mrs. Running on Old Legs reports that the 5K ‘Fun’ run was run almost entirely on roads that were fully open and at one, supposedly, marshalled junction cars were actually crossing through the line of runners. My wife had cause to bang the side of one car where the driver was edging into the runners, she landed a positive blow on the car and the driver then suddenly decided that perhaps they would move away from the runners. Although cut off times were implemented at points around the course there was no pick up bus for those who fell behind beyond the final check point so that when the roads were fully opened, especially along the river, the traffic just swallowed up the back markers and made their lives a misery. KMA are very, very lucky that no one was seriously injured or even killed. Given that this is exactly what they did last year it is fairly evident that they just do not care about the safety of their participants, those who pay for their event. It is a disgrace that they have not learned from the major mistakes of their previous effort, it would seem that corners have been cut to such an extent that the very fabric of this event has unravelled.

Marshalling quantity seemed ample but the quality of the traffic control, by them and the police, make me wonder if any instruction or training had been given.

Medical facilities on the course were at most, if not all water stations, but, I understand that the most important item, the magic spray, ran out and many back of the packers suffered cramps and got no relief.

Rather than spending much more time recalling the other errors of the event I will just list them.

>Very few toilets on the course. I personally only saw one on the 42k course. >Water at the finish was a long way from the finish line >Limited food, served in polystyrene containers that made everything inside sweat. Some of the fruit was badly bruised and even rotten >Medal quality had not been checked, many broke before leaving the finish area >Runners who failed to beat the cut off times were given finisher shirts >5K run was unacceptably over distance, more than 20% @ 6.18K . >Inadequate number and inefficient use of sweeper buses. Ladies were brought back on the back of the cone collection lorry, other stranded runners had to hail taxies to get back >Official photographs are really bad, there are several top class sports photographers they could hire to do the job properly >No communication after the event

I am not surprised that there has been little communication since the event. I expect their lawyers are working out what needs to be said and what they cannot admit to. > www.facebook.com/sri.suriyothai/videos/1020552701347140/

Finish line experience 10/30

POST RACE. 10/20

AFTER EVENT

The FULL results were very timely. 2/5

My overall score for this event is 54.0%. This is as bad as it gets, the only good area of performance was registration and that was out-sourced. This is a very sad day for me and for Kuching.

Overall I think the Race Director and all who have been involved need to think again.

Congratulations to our champions:

Mens open John Lorono Lorira 02:27:17 Womens open Susan Jemutai Kosgei 02:55:01 Mens veteran Khoon Hiong Kho 03:04:39 Womens verteran Caroline Ngugi 04:04:55

Happy Running

When it comes to going after what you love in life, don't take no for an answer.

My personal race.

4:29:04 21st 40+ veteran. 138th. overall.

Distance run 42.65Kms the additional was due to locating toilets.

My race was a mixture of discomfort, fantastic rhythm and pain but overall I am pleased with my performance.

After just 3.5Kms I had taken my third ‘pit’ stop, something had certainly upset my gastro system. However, having settled that problem I got into a smooth rhythm, pacing in the 5:40’s kph that enabled me to pull back the time I had lost. By the half way mark, amazingly I was on pace for a sub4 and a personal best time.

I had planned to reach 30kms in 2:50:00 then to push harder for the last 12Kms and at 25Kms I was just a tad behind schedule but in the zone, averaging just under 29min per 5K. Kuching Marathon 2016 was going well.

Somewhere between K27 and 28 I suffered the first of many stomach cramps, quite mild at first by progressively worsening. In retrospect the cramps were probably not that bad that they should have blown my race out of the water, it would seem that I no longer have, if I ever did have, the mental strength to push through pain or adversity. The cramps continued more or less to the finish line and my glory time had gone.

My only consolation is that I did finish, albeit at a jog.

Conclusion: If I run healthy in my next full marathon, Penang Bridge International, I will finish with a big PB.

P.S. I did not encounter any of the major problems endured by the back of the packers. My only worry was running on the open, barely marshalled roads.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page